- Requirement effective as of the 2013-2014 school year.
- Students in grades 7 – 12, should receive information about, and a demonstration, of the use of AEDs.
- School districts must provide one time cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) instruction as part of the comprehensive health education.
- CPR education does not need to cover all victim sizes (adult/child/infant) and does not require a hands-on component to training.
- Teachers do not need to hold a CPR or AED instructor certification in order to teach this content.
Excerpts from Bill
“For the purposes of this subchapter, “comprehensive health education” means a systematic and extensive elementary and secondary educational program designed to provide a variety of learning experiences based upon knowledge of the human organism as it functions within its environment. The term includes the study of: * * * (3) Safety including: (A) first aid, disaster prevention, and accident prevention; and (B) information regarding and practice of compression-only cardiopulmonary resuscitation and the use of automated external defibrillators;…”
Excerpts from State Board of Education
- Completion of CPR and AED training is not required for graduation, but students must demonstrate proficiency in health education as part of the revised Education Quality Standards. Comprehensive health education is considered part of the minimum course of study for Vermont schools.
- Students do not need to earn a CPR or AED certification
- Teachers do not need to hold a CPR or AED instructor certification in order to teach this content. However, in Vermont a physical education endorsement and health education Students in grades 7 – 12, should receive information about, and a demonstration, of the use of AEDs.
- The American Red Cross recommends that students not engage in skillbased training to operate an AED unless they are certified in full cycle CPR.
- Consider partnering with your school nurse of anyone else who is EMT certified (including students)
- Assistance in obtaining local resources available via the Vermont Agency of Education (see link below).
Related ArticlesReport on Act 151 of 2012: http://www.leg.state.vt.us/reports/2013ExternalReports/285339.pdf
Student CPR Programs that Meet This RequirementThese training programs will qualify for state of Vermont Legislation Requirements:
|Supplies Needed||None||Adult & Infant Manikin, AED Trainer|
|Initial Evaluator Training Time||20-30 minutes||4-5 hours|
|Online Course Time||1 hour training, 20 minute test||1 hour training, 20 minute test|
|Hands-On Time (per group)||None||20-25 minutes|
|Certification Level||No certification||2-year Community CPR Certification|
|Cost for Students & Evaluators||FREE||FREE|
Call 616-855-9975 to Learn More or Register